Open Market for Poorest Countries (LDCs)

16 April 2012
At a meeting of the sub-committee on least-developed countries (LDCs), a subsidiary body to the Committee on Trade and Development, four developing WTO members reported their commitment to opening their markets for products from least-developed countries.
The commitment of the four members – India, China, Chinese Taipei and Korea – to open market reflect the increased efforts to improve market access conditions for imports from the poorest countries. The four members agree to implement duty-free and quota-free market access for products originating from least-developed countries (LDCs).
The current list of LDCs (designated by the United Nations) includes 48 countries, 31 of which to date have become WTO members and comprise about 12 percent of the world’s population, but account for less than 2 per cent of world GDP and about 1 percent of global trade in products.
Kindly find more information about the WTO work programme for LDCs on the WTO’s webpage.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: